top of page
Search

End of Autumn Update

Greetings Gardening Friends,


I hope your gardens were fruitful and fun this autumn season. Did you grow any cool season vegetables for an autumn harvest? Due to the mild weather my vegetables continued to have lots of aphids so I removed all the kale and collards in early November. I harvested the last of the scallions and lettuce. The celeriac is still in the garden, I'm hoping they will increase in size by December. I continue to harvest herbs like parsley, rosemary, sage and thyme, including this morning for my Thanksgiving recipes. The annual flower beds have been cleaned up and covered with sheet mulching for the winter.


We enjoyed a lovely trip to Lan Su Chinese Garden for the annual Mumvember event. The autumn leaf color was splendid at the Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden. I walked through the healing gardens at Good Samaritan and Emanuel Medical Centers before and after my procedures. I hope you have made time to restore yourself in nature this autumn.


At the end of August I took a new position with Portland Community College at the Cascade campus as the Learning Garden Coordinator. I am really enjoying this job, nurturing the new learning garden, and fostering collaborations with students, staff, and faculty.


Due to the all-consuming transition to my new employment all aspects of my small business are on hold until next year. I am not taking wreath orders or wreath making private party reservations this holiday season. I have also been very negligent in the writing of my blog and newsletter during this transition. I'm hoping once I am more adjusted to my increased work load I can return to a regular writing schedule.


While my blog is not being updated you can find me posting on Instagram. I'm posting photos there pretty regularly. Honestly, I've lost all interest in facebook so you won't see anything new on that platform.


My winter 2020 gardening classes with PCC Community Education are now open for registration. I am offering three classes in February and March. You can get more information and register via this link.


My final update is we are hoping to see the publication of my first book The Gardening Goddess Guide to Edible Gardening in Portland in February of 2020. Thank you for your patience and your continued interest. I will be so happy and relieved when this book is finally launched into the world.


Warmly,

Jolie



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page